Jaybrooke Translations

Brother and sister-led translation website


Secret Dungeon: Chapter One

“Dungeon.

A mysterious cave, labyrinth, or ruin that leads to another world. Sometimes, they are remote places inhabited by giant monsters or towering structures piercing the sky.

Forty years ago, these dungeons appeared on Earth, and human society changed forever.

Within these dungeons, creatures that were only heard of in myths and fantasies roamed freely. If left unchecked, these monsters would surge to the surface and even invade the world.

However, dungeons brought not only calamity but also blessings. They were filled with treasures that seemed to be gifts from otherworldly gods and spirits—cures for incurable diseases, elixirs of youth, swords with flames that could cut through steel, and silver armor lighter than paper. Moreover, by absorbing a substance known as ‘mana’ abundant in dungeons, humans gained superhuman abilities and magic.

People began to explore dungeons, risking their lives for wealth and to transcend their humanity.

Thus, the era of Dungeon Conquests began.”

[Break]

“Therefore, as the Dungeon Reporter, I, Goblin Tanaka, am here to deliver a statement from the newly emerged Dungeon’s Demon Lord.”

A voice was heard coming from a tablet PC placed on the porch.

Today, a new Demon Lord is set to make a statement at 3 PM.

The broadcast began.

By the way, as the name suggests, Goblin Tanaka is a goblin.

More accurately, he’s a half-goblin, the result of an encounter with a goblin named Tanaka.

This guy is strangely intelligent, using a drone he took from a slain dungeon explorer to become the world’s only monster streamer. Moreover, he even created a bank account through drone hacking.

Once, a delivery person for an online store posted a stream with the message: “I delivered sildenafil for erectile dysfunction to a goblin in the dungeon lol.” Since the delivery person was murdered on the spot by Goblin Tanaka after revealing his ED condition, it probably wasn’t fake, and the story about the bank account is most likely true.

An arrow whizzed through the air.

The arrow I had released from my hand flew towards the target I had placed in the garden.

As someone aspiring to be a dungeon explorer, I need to listen to the Demon Lord’s statement.

I understand that.

So, I’m connected to Goblin Channel.

But I don’t have the luxury to leisurely watch the screen.

I, Mahiro Furuya, am not yet an explorer.

I need to at least graduate from middle school to become one.

To prepare for my dungeon debut next year, I need to train.

Well, the fact that Tanaka is extremely ugly is also an issue.

Tanaka is a super-ugly goblin, seventy percent uglier than a regular goblin.

Just looking at him shaves off my SAN points.

He probably has an incredibly disgusting smile on his face right now.

But his voice is pleasant, and he has a clear enunciation, making it easier to understand than watching a news program later.

“O mighty Goblin Lord, I humbly thank you for granting me an audience.”

As I continued practicing with my bow and arrows, I heard Tanaka starting his audience with the Demon Lord.

This guy has courage, at the very least.

No matter how intelligent he is, Tanaka’s physical abilities are at most on par with a hobgoblin.

Among monsters, he’s considered a lower-tier creature.

Faced with the Demon Lord, Tanaka would probably die from a mere glare, charged with mana.

I wouldn’t even stand a chance before a Demon Lord.

“I am Onimaru, the Demon King. I declare here that I will annihilate the humans of Japan and establish a demon nation.”

This new dungeon seems to be related to youkai, quite unusual. But more importantly, this Demon Lord is the first I’ve heard of to openly display hostility toward humanity in a dungeon in Japan.

How terrifying.

This dungeon may genuinely pose a national crisis.

I felt my grip tighten with anxiety.

“Ah—”

My finger slipped, and the arrow I had nocked flew off.

Thank you for reading.

If you found it interesting and have expectations, please bookmark and rate it.


Translated by Brooke and Jay of Jaybrooke Translations.


Previous Chapter | Table of Contents | Next Chapter

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started